Awards & Societies

2012 Hetényi Award, Society for Experimental Mechanics
2011 Associate Technical Editor for ASME JOURNAL OF APPLIED MECHANICS
2010 Participant, Engineering Faculty Leadership Forum, College of Engineering, UIUC
2009 Fellow, ASME
2008–2010 Executive Board Member, Society for Experimental Mechanics 2007Xerox award for faculty research, UIUC
2002–2005 One of the most cited papers (Vol. 69, pp. 1695-1711) in Engineering Fracture Mechanics
2005 AIAA UIUC teacher of the year award
1999-2005 Associate Technical Editor for EXPERIMENTAL MECHANICS
2005,2010, 2011 Engineering council award for excellence in advising
02, 08, 09, 10 and Fall 06,10 List of UIUC teachers ranked as excellent
1999 NSF early CAREER award
1996 Dean’s commendation list for excellence in teaching
1994 William F. Ballhaus Prize (for most outstanding doctoral dissertation in Aeronautics)
1993 Ernest E. Sechler Memorial Award (for contributions to teaching and research in Aeronautics)
1993 Josephine de Karman Fellowship
1988 Russell R. Vought and Donald W. Douglas Fellowships, Caltech
1988 The Governor’s Prize in Aeronautics (top ranking student in the final year, Imperial College)
1985 Holligrave Exhibition (Fellowship), Imperial College